I woke up this morning and that was the last normal thing I did today.

I looked over at my nightstand. There used to be an alarm clock, but instead sat a monkey. Not a real life monkey, but one of those monkey’s with the cymbals. It looked like a creepy toy from the horror movies. It’s smile make me shriek. Thank God I was alone, because it was loud and girly.

I pulled myself up in my bed, continually staring at the monkey. It felt like it was watching me, moving its eyes wherever mine went. Why was it there? Who put it there?

Rubbing my eyes, I went to put my feet on the floor. There was no carpet there to tickle my toes. Water, there was water in the place of my carpet. Bewildered I looked down. No, the carpet was there. But it felt like water.

What was going on?

I glanced around the room to see what else was wrong. First, a monkey, then carpet that felt like water. I couldn’t imagine what I would find next. But I found it. Standing in the corner by the door was a darkened figure.

“It’s about time.”

Leave a Reply

