“Alright, Mr. Waldo. Let’s start with an easy one. Why were you hiding?”

“Who said I was hiding, Detective?”

“You were found in a time zone that you clearly did not belong in. Your red and white striped clothing kind of clash with Victorian Era dress, so forgive me if I mistake your actions as hiding.”

“I was in that time zone, because that was one of the few places I had left.”

“What, to hide?”

“No, Detective. To run.”

The detective leaned back in his chair. I wondered what the chair was constructed out of. If not some form of unbreakable steel, layered upon itself for support, some wild magic was keeping this man interrogating me up off the ground.

“You went to the Victorian time zone to run? From who?”

“From whom.”

“What?”

“Never mind.”

This man was an idiot. They must have lowered their standards for detective since I applied.

“Look, Waldo. I need an answer. Why were you in that time zone? Or who were you running from, if you weren’t hiding there?”

“The Savage.”

I was amazed a man that size could move that quickly. Fear over took him.

“Where did you hear that name?”

Leave a Reply

