I’ve been staring at these clouds for hours.

I’m the only one still looking. Everyone else took off, back to their homes, their old jobs. I don’t think they understand how important it is to be here.

I couldn’t believe that I was in the crowd when it happened. I had followed the crowd for months, giving up all my free time to help where I could, listening to all the conversations I could, even if I wasn’t invited to them.

One of the three told me to stop snooping. He didn’t like me butting into his private business with the Master. I wasn’t scared of this follower. He was a hypocrite, abandoning the Master when followers were needed the most. I wasn’t in town when the terrible deed occurred, but I know I wouldn’t have left the Master.

And now the Master is gone. Vanished without a trace, and I am the only one sitting here waiting for him to reappear.

Those other silly followers, they think that the Master wanted them to leave and do other work. The fools, real followers will wait here on the mountain.

I’m going to sit here and keep staring at the clouds.

“After (Jesus) suffering, he showed himself to these men and gave many convincing proofs that he was alive…He said to them: “It is not to you to know the times or dates the Father has set by his own authority. But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.” After he said this, he was take up before their very eyes, and a cloud hid him from their sight.
“They were looking intently up into the sky as he was going, when suddenly two men dressed in white stood beside them. “Men of Galilee, ” they said, “why do you stand here looking into the sky? This same Jesus, who has been taken from you into heaven, will come back in the same way you have seen him go into heaven.” – Acts 1:3,7-11

Leave a Reply

