Our world is full of mutants.

Not the X-Men type mutants, but regular people that have a genetic mutation that makes them special. Maybe it is red hair or green eyes. That doesn’t make them inhuman, as it were. It makes them special.

Even though we see red haired or green eyed people all over the globe, they are subjects of genetic mutation. And those are just two of the most common types.

There are others that are much more rare, like the kind that I have. My mutation affects every 1 in 100 million births. It doesn’t have a technical term because it is so rare, it is difficult to properly study.

I call it The Forever Curse.

I was born with immortality. Not because of some deity granting my wish or some crazy religious hocus pocus. It’s science. The right DNA markers aligned and I have immortality. My father didn’t have it. My mother didn’t have it. No one else in my family has it. It is a mutation.

It’s the year 2016, and I was born in 1542. That makes me the oldest member of The Forever Curse. And sadly, one of the few that haven’t been murdered yet.

One thought on “The Forever Curse

Leave a Reply

