(Make sure you read Part One before you read this.)

“What was under the surface Grandpa?”

“Do we have any chips? I need some potato chips.”

I slumped back. Great, I thought to myself. His train of thought had jumped from one track to another, without skipping a beat. Thanks cancer. Grandpa says something interesting and now I may never figure out what he was talking about.

“I think Mom has a bag stashed on the top shelf of the pantry.”

With that, Grandpa grabbed his walker and shuffled off to the kitchen. That left me with my thoughts.

Could this be true? Yes, the brain cancer was screwing with his mind, but maybe there was some validity to what he said.

A quick search of the Internet revealed some interesting info. In 2016, President Obama had given NASA another 18.5 billion dollars. NOAA, the National Oceanic And Atmospheric Administration had a total budget of 6 billion. Not a bonus of, total budget.

“Hey Grandpa!”

“Mmmmm?”

“I have a question about NASA, and what you were talking about earlier.”

“Oh?”

“What do you think NASA is running from?”

He tilted his head. A knowing smile crept across his face.

“Nathan, my boy. What does anyone run away from?”

“What?” I asked.

“Monsters.”


You voted! Part Three of Beneath The Surface is here!

 

2 thoughts on “Beneath The Surface, Part Two

Leave a Reply

