I never liked funerals.

All the sadness, the crying, the black clothing that everyone insists on wearing. Blah. Bleak affairs are not for me. But then I’m not a cheery person either.

I imagine that the opposite of a funeral would be a birth or a birthday party. The celebration of life. The chaos, the kids running around, the fake smiles and well wishes. Double blah. I never like birthdays.

I guess I’m just a gray person.

I’m not about the darkness, but not excited by the light. I’m just stuck somewhere in between. That might sound super depressing or pessimistic. I can understand where you’re coming from with that logic. But I know people that think that I’m the definition of optimism and happiness. But that’s only because they are in such a downed state.

I don’t mean to upset anyone with this revelation. I’m not trying guilt anyone, or praise myself. I’m only stating the facts as I see them.
And the facts are gray. Not exciting, but not sad either.

I sit here on the curb, outside my house, staring at the two families across the street.

One family celebrating life.

The other family mourning death.

Blah.

One thought on “Not Black or White

Leave a Reply

