(This is Part Two of the story. Make sure you read Part One to get the full story.)

“Officers, be advised. We have a jumper on top of the Key Food building, west side. Middle aged white male. All available units please respond.”

Great.

I slumped deeper in the passenger seat of the squad car. My partner turned on the lights and sirens as he responded.

This was the last thing I wanted to deal with today. My wife was pissed off at me, for something, again. My daughter was sleeping with her moron boyfriend, who was a crackhead. My son is…going through some life-altering changes. Blah. I don’t want to deal with someone else’s emotion filled life crap, especially when I’ve got my own to work out.

My mood didn’t improve when we finally arrived on the scene. We were too late. Dude had jumped, and left a mess everywhere. People were puking on the street. Others were just gawking.

My partner pulled out the yellow tape, as I started yelling at people to back up.

When that was all done, I got to asking the crowd if they saw anything.

“No,” one guy replied, “I don’t know what happened here. Sad isn’t it?”

Sure it is kid. Everyone’s life is sad, living or dead.



Part Three is coming. Stay tuned.

One thought on “Death: Perspective Two

Leave a Reply

