(The story continues. Make sure you have read Part One and Part Two before you keep going.)

“Make sure you buckle your seatbelt, John.”

I couldn’t believe I was doing this. I was pulling the five-point harness together so that I would be strapped into my seat in a time machine. Which made me ask myself, why would there need to be five-point harnesses in a time machine? Was Dr. Bradshaw expecting it to be that rough of a trip?

“Question, John?”

My face had given me away, but it didn’t seem to bother Bradshaw. He seemed quite excited about all this, himself already strapped in and playing with dials and switches.

“Yeah…do you anticipate time travel to be so turbulent that we need these?”

He kept his attention on the dials and switches, but smiled so large. He seemed to know so much more than he was telling, but glad that I was there to poke around and question things.

“We are going to be moving through time John. What makes you think that it will be easy? Or pleasant? The movies?”

I call them ‘mental breaks’, when an idea that you have held for so long suddenly shatters when you think of things differently. I hadn’t really considered what time travel would take. Going faster than the speed of light. Traversing the gravity waves through space. Maneuvering through the vastness of everything.

Regardless of what we were going to prove or disprove, time travel was going to something violent.

Leave a Reply

