Every archeologist hopes they are the one that finds the “big one”.

We all want to find the Ark of the Covenant. We all want to be the one that uncovers the Spear of Destiny. We all want to have our name printed in the byline, under the headline, “Noah’s Ark Found.”

Not all of us are so “Bible focused” in our archeology. A number of my closest colleagues are interested in unearthing the Mayan ruins. I dated a guy that left me for a cemetery of medieval skeletons found under a parking lot in England. Myself, I’m after the Library of Alexandria.

Believe me, I have heard all the stories, all the legends, all the half-truths about Alexandria. I have seen every movie, read every book, and talked to every so-called “expert” on the fabled city, and it’s mythical collection of manuscripts.

The problem isn’t that I don’t have funding. I have plenty of people throwing money at me, all wanting their slice of the “ancient knowledge and wisdom” pie. It isn’t that I don’t know where to start looking. I know exactly where it is. The problem is, I don’t know how much longer I can hide it from the world.

2 thoughts on “Lost and Found

Leave a Reply

