I Want To Buy Your Star

pexels-photo-25996

“Let’s do it.”

“No. It’s ridiculous. Do you know how much it costs?”

“Who cares what it costs? Let’s do it anyways.”

I loved my girlfriend, but ever since she had seen A Walk To Remember, she had being trying to make her life more lively. She was making bucket lists. She was chasing every dream. She was trying to live in the moment, at every moment, all the time.

I’m not saying that it was a bad thing, only that it lead to a lot of problems in the future.

“I don’t know baby. It’s a lot of money to drop, especially because we won’t actually own it.”

“Of course we will. Look. Here. On the website. $4,000 and you own a star. You name it. It is yours. It goes into a giant database so that everyone in the world knows, and no one can buy your star. Ever.”

It sounded ridiculous at the time. It still does now. But I was a man in love, and who was I to tell her no. That was 5 years ago. Since then we’ve broke up.

Last night, a tall man in a black suit came to my door.

“Mr. Peterson. I understand that you and your girlfriend own a star, designate Alpha Orion KB241+2.”

“Umm…sure…I’m sorry. It’s like 2 in the morning. What do you want?”

“I want to buy your star.”


Want to know what comes next?

If I get 5 likes, I’ll write another 200 words of the story.

10 likes, another 500. 20 likes, another 1000 words.